Wedding Plates

Turns out, I can’t really stay away from Richard Paton’s Rainbow Glass Studios. It is just so easy and so rewarding.

This time two friends from university were getting married and I thought it would be nice to make them a wedding present, and little cake plates seem like a traditional option.

I always return to the idea of playing with themes and expectations. In this case, I was inspired by Portmeirion‘s Botanical Garden range as well as various gorgeous hand-illustration blogs like this one by Lizzie Harper, however doing it in glass would be the twist.

$_35sp%203

It was also  a good opportunity to try out a new technique: namely using a glassline pen to draw an inclusion between two sheets of clear glass. I then put the transparent colours on top to melt down into the drawings to distort the image and make everything nice and blurry round the edges. The inclusions trap air, so it resulted in lots of bubbles which I quite like.

I also wrote the common and latin (Greek?) names of the plants around the outside: poppy (papavera somniferum) and thistle (silybum marianum), snowdrop (galanthus nivalis) and lily (lilium candidum), iris (iris pardanthopsis) and foxglove (digitalis purpurea), primrose (primula vulgaris) and sweet pea (lathyrus odoratus).

I also ground a some frit in various colours so that it might look a little like a watercolour leaking out from the edges of the design.

 

untitled


Here they are on the kiln shelf. I did the drawings free-hand after a rough sketch on some paper which was placed under the glass for a trace.  Unfortunately, I was taking the pictures in a rush so they’ve come out a little blurry.

IMG_0113 IMG_0112 IMG_0111 IMG_0110And the finished product: IMG_0125

The final products were, in some places, more bubbly than I had expected and I wish I had had a bit longer to spend on them, really perfecting the designs: classic back-of-an-envelope work from yours truly. Overall, I was pleased and would definitely try and use this technique again. If I ever forked out for the investment, a whole range of glasslines plus various frits could really create quite a detailed composition!

 

Leave a Reply

